Bringing You Another Side Of The Story

Walter Payton Man of the Year nominees

The NFL is gearing up for the annual announcement of the WALTER PAYTON NFL MAN OF THE YEAR AWARD by revealing the 32 nominees for the 2021-22 season. Representing the best of the NFL’s commitment to philanthropy and community impact, each player was selected as his team’s Man of the Year and is now eligible to win the national award.

Considered the league’s most prestigious honor, the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide recognizes an NFL player for outstanding community service activities off the field, as well as excellence on the field. First established in 1970, the national award was renamed in 1999 after the late Hall of Fame Chicago Bears running back WALTER PAYTON.

“The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award is the League’s most prestigious honor and these 32 men represent their many teammates who do incredible things in their communities,” said NFL Commissioner ROGER GOODELL. “Their unwavering commitment to their hometowns and team communities embodies Walter’s spirit of giving back in a way that makes us all incredibly proud of the work they are doing every day.”

For the fourth year in a row, all 32 team winners will be highlighted as nominees and recognized for their important work during the week leading up to Super Bowl LVI. The 2021 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year will be announced during NFL Honors, a primetime awards special to air nationally the Thursday before Super Bowl LVI on ABC.

All 32 nominees will receive up to a $40,000 donation in their name to their charity of choice. The winner of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award will receive a $250,000 donation to the charity of their choice. All donations are courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

“The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year nominees continue to impress and inspire us, and Nationwide is proud to recognize their exemplary commitment to giving back and making a difference,” said RAMON JONES, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer at Nationwide. “It is an honor to showcase their stories and support the charitable organizations that benefit from the extraordinary efforts of these community champions.”

Beginning in 2017, the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year trophy silhouette came to life in uniform elements to further recognize past award winners and current nominees.

The three current players who have won the award—J.J. WATT, CALAIS CAMPBELL and RUSSELL WILSON —continue to wear a Man of the Year patch on their jerseys to recognize their outstanding contributions to the game and to their communities.

All 2021 nominees will wear a Man of the Year helmet decal beginning Week 14 and continuing through the end of the season in recognition of their accomplishments on and off the field.

Each of these players support many different causes, ranging from social justice work, supporting veterans, fighting homelessness and more.

Below is a list of the 2021 nominees:

Arizona CardinalsKelvin Beachum
Atlanta FalconsMike Davis
Baltimore RavensBradley Bozeman
Buffalo BillsHarrison Phillips
Carolina PanthersDJ Moore
Chicago BearsJimmy Graham
Cincinnati BengalsSam Hubbard
Cleveland BrownsDenzel Ward
Dallas CowboysDak Prescott
Denver BroncosJustin Simmons
Detroit LionsJason Cabinda
Green Bay PackersAaron Jones
Houston TexansJustin Reid
Indianapolis ColtsKenny Moore II
Jacksonville JaguarsMyles Jack
Kansas City ChiefsTyrann Mathieu
Las Vegas RaidersDarren Waller
Los Angeles ChargersCorey Linsley
Los Angeles RamsAndrew Whitworth
Miami DolphinsJerome Baker
Minnesota VikingsAnthony Barr
New England PatriotsLawrence Guy
New Orleans SaintsCameron Jordan
New York GiantsLogan Ryan
New York JetsQuinnen Williams
Philadelphia EaglesJason Kelce
Pittsburgh SteelersCameron Heyward
San Francisco 49ersArik Armstead
Seattle SeahawksTyler Lockett
Tampa Bay BuccaneersMike Evans
Tennessee TitansDerrick Henry
Washington Football TeamJonathan Allen