Bringing You Another Side Of The Story

Patrick Mahomes joins elites with second Super Bowl MVP award

Patrick Mahomes is a two-time Super Bowl champion at the age of 27. He can now add two-time MVP to his long list of accolades. Mahomes was voted the winner of the Pete Rozelle Trophy awarded to the Super Bowl LVII Most Valuable Player. 

Mahomes completed 21 of 27 pass attempts (77.8 percent) for 182 yards and three touchdowns with no interceptions for a 131.8 rating and added 44 rushing yards in helping the Chiefs overcome a ten-point halftime deficit en route to a 38-35 win in Super Bowl LVII.

It marked the fourth time ever a team has overcome a second-half deficit of at least ten points to win the Super Bowl, joining New England in Super Bowls XLIX and LI, as well as Mahomes’ Chiefs in Super Bowl LIV. 

Mahomes and Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts also made history as the first black quarterbacks to face each other in a Super Bowl. Double Take Sports’ Carita Parks caught up with Mahomes who shared the significance of that moment, especially for younger kids. He also went on to share how Andy Reid helped him become the quarterback he is today.

Mahomes, who was also named Super Bowl LIV MVP, is the sixth player ever to win multiple Super Bowl Most Valuable awards, joining Tom Brady (five), Eli Manning (two) and Pro Football Hall of Famers Joe Montana (three), Terry Bradshaw (two) and Bart Starr (two). He is the second-youngest player ever to win multiple Super Bowl MVP awards, trailing only Tom Brady (26 years old). 

It marks the 32nd time that a quarterback has been named Super Bowl Most Valuable Player. Mahomes is the seventh quarterback to win both the NFL MVP and Super Bowl MVP awards in the same season, joining Pro Football Hall of Famers Terry Bradshaw (1978), Joe Montana (1989), Emmitt Smith (1993), Bart Starr (1966), Kurt Warner (1999) and Steve Young (1994). He is also the first player to lead the NFL in passing yards and passing touchdowns and win the Super Bowl in the same season. 

The MVP award is chosen by a panel comprised of 16 media members – FOX and Westwood One analysts, media from Arizona, Kansas City, and Philadelphia, PFWA-appointed pool reporters that have attended team practice sessions during Super Bowl week, past Pro Football Writers of America presidents, at-large members of the national media – and fans interactively through the National Football League’s official website,